Federal Public Lands.—Public lands under the administration of the Federal Government comprise lands in the Northwest Territories including the Arctic Archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait, Hudson Bay and James Bay, lands in Yukon Territory, Ordnance and Admiralty Lands, National Parks and National Historic Sites, Forest Experiment Stations, Experimental Farms, Indian reserves and, in general, all public lands held by the several departments of the Federal Government for various purposes connected with federal administration (see Table 2). These lands are administered under the Territorial Lands Act (RSC 1952, c. 263) and the Public Lands Grants Act (RSC 1952, c. 224) which became effective June 1, 1950 and replaced previous legislation.

The largest areas under federal jurisdiction are in the Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory where only 80 sq. miles of a total area of 1,511,979 sq. miles are privately owned. This part of the national domain, with the exception of the islands in Hudson Bay and James Bay, is all north of the 60th parallel of latitude and occupies about 40 p.c. of the surface of Canada. It is under the administration of the Northern Administration Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources.

Provincial Public Lands.—Public lands of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia (except the Railway Belt and Peace River Block) have been administered since Confederation by the provincial governments. In 1930 the Federal Government transferred the unalienated portions of the natural resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta and of sections of British Columbia to the respective governments, and all unalienated lands in the Province of Newfoundland, except those administered by the Federal Government, became provincial public lands under the Terms of Union on Mar. 31, 1949. All land in the Province of Prince Edward Island has been alienated except 126 sq. miles under federal or provincial administration.

Information regarding provincial public lands may be obtained from the respective provinces. (See the Directory of Sources of Official Information, Chapter XXVI, under "Lands".)

Subsection 1.—National Parks

The National Parks of Canada are areas selected for their natural or historic importance which are to be preserved for all time for the "benefit, education and enjoyment of the people of Canada". Through the wisdom of farsighted legislators more than 75 years ago, Canada has today a system of National Parks that compares favourably with that of any other country. Initially, an area of 10 sq. miles around mineral hot springs on "Sulphur Mountain in Alberta was reserved "from sale, or settlement or squatting" for the benefit of the nation. Two years later—in 1887—the Rocky Mountain Park Act established the first National Park (now Banff) and, since then, other areas across the country have been so preserved. These protected areas, which now cover more than 29,000 sq. miles, are administered by the National Parks Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources. They are classified as: National Parks—natural wilderness areas set apart for preservation because of the national importance of their flora, fauna and geological features; and National Historic Parks and Sites—sites selected as of national significance in the colourful history of the nation.

Fine specimens of plains and wood bison, prong-horned antelope and whooping crane survive today because of the protection afforded them within National Parks. Although hunting is prohibited, angling is permitted in all the parks under regulation as to seasons, bag limits and licences. Nature trails have been set out in most parks and the interpretation of the natural features of each park is made available to the visitor through Park